Black Sabbath: The End

2017-02-04-22-05-33Most of us, I think, have a soundtrack to our youth.

This soundtrack  consists of key songs and bands that influenced us and motivated us through those awkward teenage years.

For me, this soundtrack was provided by the likes of AC/DC, Motorhead and Deep Purple; Alice Cooper, Hawkwind and Queen; Lynyrd Skynyrd, Molly Hatchet and ZZ Top. And, of course, Black Sabbath.

The trouble is, all of these bands have their origins in the 1970s or even late 1960s. They are all now getting on a bit. If 2016 has taught us anything, it is that our musical heroes are not immortal.

I am not a big concert-goer, but as I see the bands I loved in my youth gradually break apart, stop touring or die I regret not having had the experience of seeing them live.

So when I saw Black Sabbath were doing a final tour I decided I had to go.

My friend Kate, who has a voracious appetite for live music, procured tickets, and yesterday a group of us set off to the Genting Arena to see the very last Black Sabbath concert, performed in their home town of Birmingham.

And it was brilliant.

The band consisted of three of the four original members: Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler and Ozzy Osbourne. Only Bill Ward was missing, replaced on the drums by Tommy Clufetos and with the addition of Adam Wakeman on keyboards.

One of our group who is more knowledgeable about such things than me pointed out that none of the songs in the set list were later than 1976, so they were all from the original Ozzy years. For most of us there this concert was all about nostalgia, so that is exactly what we wanted: they played all the old classics such as the eponymous Black Sabbath, War Pigs, Iron Man, N.I.B, Fairies Wear Boots, After Forever and, of course, as an encore, Paranoid.

If I’m honest I thought that, being their last concert, there would be more: something big and emotional. But there wasn’t.

Clearly it was emotional for the band, and Ozzy regularly expressed his gratitude to the fans, but there was nothing excessive; nothing overly sentimental; nothing mawkish.

That’s not Black Sabbath’s way.

What they did was what they do best: they played a superb set of excellent rock songs; they played a single encore; they waved to the crowd; and they left the stage.

The End.

2017-02-04-22-34-55_edited-2

About Darrel Kirby

I am what I am.
This entry was posted in Events, Life beyond the blogosphere and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Black Sabbath: The End

  1. Pingback: Rock: The Next Generation | Darrel Kirby's Blog

Leave a Reply

