Autumn Colour at Westonbirt Arboretum

IMG_5482_edited-1It was my birthday last month and, as is usual, I had the day off to mark the occasion. Actually, for reasons I won’t bore you with, I chose to celebrate a couple of days late, but we can gloss over that.

So what do you do with yourself on a day off in October? Well this year my wife and I decided to visit Westonbirt Arboretum near Tetbury to see some autumn colour.

As seems to be the norm for my blogs lately it has taken me a while to get around to it, but as the weather takes a marked turn toward the wintery I thought I would reminisce on better days and share some photos.

As luck would have it the weather was reasonably fine when we set out for Westonbirt. We were running a bit late and didn’t get there until lunch time, so decided first priority was to get something to eat. It was at this point we realised how busy the place was: the queue for food was enormous. The numbers seemed to take the organisers by surprise too: by the time we got to the front of the queue they’d run out of food! Mental note to take a picnic next time.

Luckily they still had tea and some cake and, as we sat to consume our insufficient lunch the weather improved still further, with the sun making a welcome appearance. We therefore gathered our cameras and went for a walk.

Of course we got lost – I was map reading after all – so straying from the marked seasonal route may have meant that we missed the best of the autumn colour, but nonetheless it was a very enjoyable day.

About Darrel Kirby

I am what I am.
This entry was posted in Life beyond the blogosphere, Photos & Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

