Floods

Floods at Deerhurst from churchyardIt seems to have been raining for a long time now, so much so that I have been giving serious consideration to building an ark – I wish I’d paid more attention during woodwork lessons at school.

However, on Saturday we finally had a nice sunny day, if a little cold, so, accompanied by my wife, I decided to set off with my camera to take some pictures of the floods.

I have mixed emotions about this: on the one hand flooded fields under a winter sun and blue sky make for great pictures; on the other hand I feel like a ghoulish voyeur taking snaps as people’s property is ruined by the rising waters.

Nonetheless I overcame my squeamishness and set off.

First stop was Deerhurst, and at first glance there seemed to be no flooding to take pictures of. I parked up near the church next to a large, green metal gate bearing a warning sign and the words “Flood Gate”, but thought nothing of it.

The sun was out, the light was great, and the church looked very picturesque, so I thought floods or no floods, I’m going to take some pictures.

St Mary's Church, Deerhurst

The church is the Priory Church of St Mary and dates back to the ninth century and has many surviving Anglo-Saxon features which you can read more about here if you are so inclined.

As I set off to take my pictures I glanced to my left to find flood waters lapping at the churchyard wall. The flood gate was doing a sterling job of holding back the water from the road, but unfortunately the rear of the adjacent house appeared to be well under water. I guess if your house is next to one of those measuring rods they put alongside the road to indicate the depth of the water you must get used to it.

Quite a lot of photos later, we moved on, heading down the B4213 toward Apperley. Signs warned that the road ahead was closed due to flooding, but since that’s what I was looking for I carried on anyway. And sure enough, I wasn’t disappointed, the road was flooded. I pulled into a lay-by to grab a few pictures and before long there were quite a few fellow gawkers doing the same.

A couple of vehicles of the four wheel drive variety were undeterred by the floodwaters and ploughed on regardless, revealing the water to be about wheel-arch depth. I decided that discretion was the better part of valour and went back the way I came.

Tewkesbury Abbey in the floodsNext we headed into Tewkesbury, parking up near the abbey to get the classic shot across the fields which always flood at the drop of a hat. We wandered into Tewkesbury for a coffee and a chance to thaw out at Theoc House before taking a stroll down to the river to check out the damage there. At one point we came across people actually setting out flood defences, so I didn’t pause too long to take photos there.

By now it was getting on toward late afternoon and the temperature was dropping, so we headed for home happy to have some pictures in the bag, and happy we don’t live near a river.

About Darrel Kirby

I am what I am.
This entry was posted in Life beyond the blogosphere, Photos & Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Floods

  1. janh1 says:

    Great pics, thanks D. I was working most of Saturday so missed the best of the weather but glad you got to appreciate it. Specially lovely pic of Tewkesbury Abbey 🙂

    • Darrel Kirby says:

      Thanks Jan, haven’t been out with my camera for a while, so it was an enjoyable afternoon. You need to stop this working on sunny weekends business!

      • janh1 says:

        True, D! I should have flexible working hours so when the sun’s out, I’m out 🙂

      • Darrel Kirby says:

        I like the sound of those hours as long as the opposite’s not true – I wouldn’t only want the day off when the sun is out, it doesn’t happen often enough!

  2. Pingback: So That Was January 2014…. | Darrel Kirby's Blog

Leave a Reply

