‘Twas The Day Before Christmas: Gloucester Pubs Version

I knew that I was setting off to visit some of Gloucester’s excellent pubs on Christmas Eve with a bunch of friends.  For some reason that I can’t fathom, I started riffing around with rhymes in my head along the lines of “‘Twas the Night Before Christmas” and decided that I would post them on my Gloucester Pubs Twitter page as we went around.

As it happened, our pub crawl started later than planned. We therefore visited fewer pubs than expected and not in the order that I thought we would, so the rhymes I had dreamed up in advance didn’t work: I had to make most of them up as I went along.

Also, the system that I set up to replicate my Twitter Feed onto my Facebook page failed to work for reasons unknown.

Therefore, despite my current drunken state, I thought I would replicate them here for you all to… erm… enjoy.

Merry Christmas!

‘Twas the night before Christmas
And all round the house
Not a creature was stirring
Not even a mouse

The reason for this
Soon became clear
We were all off to Gloucester
In search of a beer

As we stroll round the pubs
At this festive time
I’ll keep you updated
In seasonal rhyme

Lunch has finally been eaten
So there’s only one thing to do
Head off to the Fountain
To meet the rest of the crew

Finally in the Fountain
With a pint to sup
It’s later than expected
But things are looking up

Finished my pint
And thought we were leaving
But we’ve stayed for a second
The pub is now heaving

We’re now in the Dick Whittington
Where beers are aplenty
There’s absolutely no excuse
For your glass to be empty

Where best to go next
To spread Christmas cheer?
To the Pelican of course
Gloucester CAMRA’s Pub of the Year

I thought the Fountain was busy
But the Pelican’s out of hand
It might just be
The busiest pub in the land

Christmas buses stop early
So we set off at a canter
Heading for home
To prepare things for Santa

About Darrel Kirby

I am what I am.
This entry was posted in Pubs & Drinking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

