Caged Words

I like the process of writing.

I would love to be able to write a novel, but fear that is not for me: I lack the imagination and the art of descriptive prose. No, I am much more a non-fiction kind of writer. I like the process of collecting my thoughts, organising them and laying them out in an ordered manner; taming them, if you will.

If I am going to go to all the trouble of taming my thoughts and caging them in words on a page or a computer screen, then sharing them is the obvious next step. The trouble is they are then available for others to judge, question and challenge.

It is not too bad when they are just available on this blog, whose readership rarely reaches double figures, but I have now been given the opportunity of exposing myself (just my thoughts – don’t panic!) to a wider audience. The Gloucester Citizen has asked me to provide occasional articles for the paper.

This is both exciting and daunting.

The brief is very broad: I can write about anything I like that will be of interest to the Citizen’s readers. I should provide one or two articles per month and can submit when I like, so there are no firm deadlines and I can make the most of jumping on something vaguely topical as it occurs.

But of course, its readership may exceed double figures. Gulp.

The other problem is that the articles should be between 300-350 words. I feel it very difficult to express myself in so few words. I like to think this is because my thoughts are deep and complex; others suggest it is because I have a tendency to ramble. Philistines.

Anyway, I have submitted my first article already – no time like the present – so hopefully it will be okay and will appear in a paper near you very soon.

Well, what do you know, this blog is exactly 350 words long – I may be getting the hang of this brevity thing after all. Don’t worry, it won’t last.

About Darrel Kirby

I am what I am.
This entry was posted in Books & Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Caged Words

  1. janh1 says:

    Nice one D. Make sure they pay you! Cit has just got new Editor Jenny Eastwood.
    And be prepared for the comments on the website… it can be like countering the wit from the Shed at Kingsholm! 😀

    • Darrel Kirby says:

      Sadly no-one has mentioned payment 😦
      If my article is open for comment I will have to resist reading them – they are bad for my blood pressure at the best of times!

      • janh1 says:

        Oh! Perhaps they think it’s valuable exposure for an author….which it is… and for when you are up for election as a City councillor… 🙂

  2. carrietxxxxx says:

    Darrel ,you are too modest. I have read & enjoyed both of your books on Gloucester & old public houses in Gloucester.(Obviously with a lot of ‘field work’ thrown in !) Congratulations, as a frequent reader of the Citizen, sometimes in the library, sometimes I even PAY for it ,I’m looking forward to hearing of your musings of Gloucester!

    • Darrel Kirby says:

      Thanks Carrie, you are too kind. Glad you’re enjoying the field work – it was my favourite bit!

  3. Darrel Kirby says:

    Jan – it will be good exposure: I get the impression they are asking a number of people to be contributors. Don’t even joke about city councillor – talk like that could get me divorced!

  4. Pingback: Beer Festival Breathing Life into the City Centre | Darrel Kirby's Blog

Leave a Reply

