Snowy Gloucester

St Oswalds PriorySo we’ve had some snow. From the news coverage you might imagine that this represents a natural disaster on the scale of an earthquake or volcano. I know that they have had it worse in other parts of the country, but here in Gloucester all we have had is perhaps a couple of inches – although for the purposes of the news, 50mm sounds much more exciting.

The snow began on Friday and caused mild panic amongst the more nervously inclined at work and, it seems, set of the usual wave of panic buying as people stocked up with siege rations, stripping the supermarkets of bread and milk. For me, what the snow offers is an opportunity to get out and take some pictures.

My opportunity came on Saturday afternoon when I headed into Gloucester with my camera. As I expected, the centre itself did not provide much in the way of photo opportunities as almost all traces of snow had gone from the main gate streets. Around the Cathedral, however, things were much more pleasingly snowy.

I spent a couple of happy hours snapping away, until I lost all feeling in my shutter finger and began to fear the possibility of frostbite. As well as the cathedral I managed to take some snaps around St Mary de Lode, St Oswalds and the Docks.

It looks like the snow will be back next week, no doubt causing disruption, inconvenience and chaos, but for now I am happy just to enjoy its aesthetic qualities.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Darrel Kirby

I am what I am.
This entry was posted in Gloucester, Photos & Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Snowy Gloucester

  1. janh1 says:

    Well worth the trip into town, D. Some super pics. .. particularly of St Oswalds Priory with Cathedral in the background. I had a set of Christmas card watercolours once with similar snowy views. .. didn’t really want to give them away!

    • Darrel Kirby says:

      Thanks Jan. I know what you mean about the Xmas cards – I got one this year of Parliament Buildings in the snow and couldn’t bring myself to throw it away.

  2. Honest Girl says:

    Hi, love the pictures – I’m always surprised at how beautiful Gloucester is once you step off the manky high street! Could I borrow one of your images in return for linking to your blog from my own? Am finding yours an interesting (if lacking in standard Gloucester-esque self-depreciation or other-end-of-the-scale overconfidence) read 🙂

  3. Honest Girl says:

    Reblogged this on Honesty is the Best Policy. and commented:
    Having lived in both Cheltenham and Gloucester, I am very at home with the notion of Gloucester being a far inferior city to Cheltenham. This is a refreshing read, to find a ‘Glostonian’ who is actually proud to be so.

    I shall embellish on my reasonings to agree with Darrel’s blog sentiment in my next post. Good work Darrel, just try to be a little more offensive about your home town to attract a broader local audience!

    • Darrel Kirby says:

      Hi Honest Girl, thanks for the reblog – my first!
      One of the reasons that I started blogging – and indeed writing books on Gloucester – was because I was sick of hearing the City being slagged off, both by our Cheltenham neighbours and, even more annoyingly, Gloucester residents. I wanted to try to redress the balance a little. As a consequence I generally try to take a positive outlook. I like to think that I too am honest, so if there is something that I don’t like I will say so, hopefully constructively, but you won’t catch me being offensive about my home town.
      I look forward to seeing more of your blog – hope we learn something about you too as well as others’ blogs.

  4. carrietxxxxx says:

    YesI I got fed up with some Cheltonians saying why are you moving there ? (It was 31 years ago now!)I read a few books and secretly thought what are they on about ,we’ve got a much more impressive ‘history’! Cheltenham is positively modern in comparison -I’d always loved walking round the docks as a young child (all the way from Bishops Cleeve ,where I was born) but appreciate it even more now I’ve lived here & bought my children up here ! Looks like everybody (developers ,businesses etc )are realising how good Gloucester is (Something we;ve always known Darell.)

    • Darrel Kirby says:

      Couldn’t agree more. True the vision of past planners didn’t do the city any favours, but it has much more variety of historic interest to offer than Cheltenham’s much heralded regency architecture – you just have to open your eyes!

      • Ian B says:

        Cheltenham for parks, wine bars, theatre and a stroll …. But Gloucester for History and Buildings hands down! The Cathedral and docks are world class heritage sites to be proud of.

  5. Pingback: Bishop Hooper | Darrel Kirby's Blog

  6. Darrel Kirby says:

    Fair comment Ian, but I’d happily take Gloucester’s pubs over Cheltenham’s wine bars. The Guildhall also does a pretty good job as a theatre. I don’t have much to offer in competition for the parks though.

Leave a Reply

