Flippin’ Photos

I posted some photos from a visit to Highnam Court Gardens at the weekend: this was one of them. It’s not a great photo: it’s a little messy, the flowers have seen better days and the main subject isn’t even properly in focus, but there is something about the feel of it that I like.

However, when I looked at the original image I felt that the focal point wasn’t quite right. Clearly the eye should be drawn by the single flower in the foreground before roaming the frame to see the others. But despite this being the only flower (mostly) in focus I felt my attention was being drawn too much by the out of focus flowers in the background.

Maybe the problem is that the focal point isn’t quite on a third. Cropping may resolve this. Or maybe, I though, the problem is that the flower’s on the wrong side. Being the proud owner of PhotoShop, such considerations are no longer a problem: you can simply flip the photo. So I did.

But now I’m just not sure that it looks quite right, and I don’t know if this is because I know that it is flipped, and this offends my sensibilities in some way, or whether it just isn’t right.

So, I’m not going to tell you if the image I used is the original or the flipped version, I am just going to put them side by side and ask you which looks best. Is one better than the other? Does it even matter? Am I over thinking this?

Exhibit A

Exhibit B

About Darrel Kirby

I am what I am.
This entry was posted in Photos & Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Flippin’ Photos

  1. Russell Kirby says:

    A, I suspect, is the original. B looks strangely un-natural but I can’t really put my finger on why.

  2. Darrel Kirby says:

    Not telling which is the original yet, but thanks for your thoughts bro.

  3. tracey wilson says:

    I like the first one, not really sure why just more drawn to it.

  4. Rant says:

    I would say A is the correct way round. You are not entirely happy with it because you don’t have a clear focal point and there is not enough to grab and keep your attention. And yes, I suspect you are over thinking it.

  5. Darrel Kirby says:

    Hmmm, consensus on A then. I suppose the eye wants to scan left to right as when reading.

Leave a Reply

