Ghosts of Gloucester Past

Nothgate streetWork is now underway on my third book, Gloucester Then and Now. I wrote last month about this project, but in short the plan is that it will consist of a series of old photographs each accompanied by a modern photograph taken from the same spot.

I also mentioned that I have quite a tight deadline to get this to the publisher for the end of the year ready for publication in summer 2012. This is difficult: because I work full time my opportunities to get into Gloucester with my camera are limited and with the vagaries of the weather getting decent ‘now’ snaps is something of a concern.

I enjoy doing the work to pull these books together – I certainly don’t do it for the money! – so in the past I have never considered doing it in collaboration with anyone else. However, the deadlines meant that when a chap got in touch asking if he could be involved in taking some pictures I thought it was worth consideration.

And so I came to meet Ken Jacques. He is an excellent photographer and particularly enthusiastic about taking pictures around the city, so a number of his pictures will no doubt be appearing in my book.

Ken is also a bit of a wizard with Photoshop. Gloucester Then & Now will compare two separate images, one old and one new, taken from exactly the same point, but he has taken this concept one step further and produced some brilliant combined images to give a ghostly impression of the past and present coming together.

My favourite image is shown here; you can see more on my website.

About Darrel Kirby

I am what I am.
This entry was posted in Books & Writing, Gloucester, Photos & Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ghosts of Gloucester Past

  1. THEGHOSTLADY says:

    Good Luck Darrell In Your New Venture. lyn x

  2. JJ says:

    Wow, Darrel, those pictures are incredible. If it’s possible, I’m even more excited about the project now.

  3. Darrel Kirby says:

    Thanks both!
    Hope your book is coming along well too Lyn. I kept plugging you ghost walks when I did my pub tour on Saturday.

  4. Look forward to reading it. I enjoyed your last 2

  5. Darrel Kirby says:

    Cheers Eddie!

  6. Good luck with this. The previous two books have been cracking reads.

    Looking at the sample picture, I realised this is what I have tried to do in my head with every old picture of Gloucester so to have the “now” and “then” combined is great.

    • Darrel Kirby says:

      Thanks James, glad you’ve enjoyed them.
      I love the combined pictures, but this is not what the pictures in the book will be like – they will be 2 separate pictures showing a Then & Now so you can compare. I think this is a good approach as often you see old pics in books but can’t work out where they are in today’s townscape.

Leave a Reply

