An Offer Too Good to Miss?

I was in the supermarket the other Friday afternoon picking up some emergency provisions. Being a Friday I was, of course, planning an Indian take-away later, so since I was there I thought I’d pick up a bottle of Cobra to go with it. 

One thing about the World Cup: despite all of the recent tub-thumping and moralising about cheap supermarket booze, there are some incredible offers out there at the moment. Offers which you can take advantage of whether you love football or hate it.

I am a bit conflicted by this. On the one hand, I am concerned that cheap supermarket booze is killing off the pubs. On the other hand, I like a bargain as much as the next man, so the hypocrite in me was delighted to see the large 600ml bottle of Cobra on offer for a mere £1.67 a bottle. Bargain.

But wait, what’s this? Alongside is a label saying “any 3 for £5.” Surely an offer too good to miss. I only really want the one bottle, but surely I should take advantage of this generosity.

Then I did the maths. You may be well ahead of me here, but if not work out the saving to be made by this offer. Use your fingers if you like, nobody will mind.

So, what do you think? Is it worth buying an extra two bottles that I don’t really need to reap the 1p saving? Probably not.  

You can see what they’re doing here though: if you are mathematically challenged, in a rush, or just too trusting you may well fall for this – I’m sure many people do. The supermarket gets the extra sales with virtually no cost.

However, I couldn’t help thinking they were pushing their luck when I arrived at the bread counter – as you can see from the picture, I think even the most ungifted mathematician could probably work this one out!

About Darrel Kirby

I am what I am.
This entry was posted in Rants & Random Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Offer Too Good to Miss?

  1. Rant says:

    Blimey, two for one. Will you pick me up a couple.

    Hang on. Does this mean you can get five for a fiver? It has a certain ring to it. Brilliant, what a great shop you have. I might drive down from here to pick up a few bargains.

  2. Russ says:

    I seem to remember an offer at Tesco (I think) for chocolate bars (I would notice them) at 32 pence each or three for £1. I did point this out to customer services but they didn’t seem very interested. I think they simply rejected me as an irritated pedant. They were of course not wrong.

Leave a Reply

