The Story of Gloucester’s Pubs – we’re nearly there!

Story of Gloucester's Pubs coverA brief blog to impart some exciting news – exciting to me anyway: yesterday The Story of Gloucester’s Pubs went to print. It is due in the shops hopefully by the end of May.

In fact it’s been a pretty exciting couple of weeks – first the final page proofs came through for checking. This is when you see the scrappy Word document and long list of photographs magically turned into something that looks like a book. Then, after a bit of final debating and tweaking, the cover design was completed. It is shown here, I hope you like it.

After a couple of years of hard graft putting the words together you may think that the cover is no big deal, but you’d be wrong. I don’t know of any statistics, but I’m betting that how the cover looks has a significant impact on sales, especially impulse purchases. The cover has to say a lot – what I hope this cover says is:

–          It’s a book about Gloucester pubs (in case the title didn’t give it away!)

–          It’s concerned with history and tradition (the old photo)

–          But it’s also contemporary and not too stuffy (the light, airy background and modern font)

–          It’s from the same author and has the same style as The Story of Gloucester (again, in case you didn’t get that from the title)

And so my work is done – nothing to do now other than go down the pub for a well-earned beer.

Well, not quite. If you know me, I will not have allowed it to escape your attention that I’m putting together a website. The aim of the site is to provide more info about both of my books as well as the city and its pubs. It’s not complete yet, but it does have some information on there already, including the contents pages of both books to give you some idea of why they are such a vital purchase.  You can find the website at www.darrelkirby.com (catchy, huh!)

Still to come is all of the marketing and launch activities. This isn’t worked out yet, but I’ll let you know when I have details. Please come along and say hello – don’t leave me all alone looking like Billy no-mates.

Meanwhile, I’m going to have that well-earned beer anyway.

Cheers!

About Darrel Kirby

I am what I am.
This entry was posted in Books & Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Story of Gloucester’s Pubs – we’re nearly there!

  1. Russ says:

    I like the cover much better than the original one I saw, shame about the ‘s though.
    I hope it does really well, good luck with it. Are you having a launch event?

  2. Darrel Kirby says:

    Launch event to be decided – may be in a pub. Seems appropriate!

  3. Pingback: A book launch dilemma « Darrel Kirby's Blog

Leave a Reply

