Another Gloucester pub bites the dust

I see from the news that another Gloucester pub has closed:the Brunswick on Park Road (see http://www.thisisgloucestershire.co.uk/gloucester/headlines/City-pub-loses-row/article-976574-detail/article.html)

The story indicates that the problem is that the leaseholder, Places Trading, can’t afford the rent being demanded by the owners, Enterprise Inns. Whilst wishing to carefully avoid saying anything of a potentially legally sensitive nature about this specific case, in general this seems a depressingly frequent story.

In the current social and economic climate, pub leaseholders need all the help they can get to eke out a meagre profit from their pubs. If the pub owners get too greedy and demand too much rent, then everyone loses: the landlord loses his livelihood, the pub owner winds up with an empty pub and the customer ends up with less choice.

I must confess that I am not a regular visitor to the Brunswick, although I have been on the odd occasion to see bands playing there. I used to be a more regular visitor when I was younger – in those days the pub went by the bizarre name of The Man in the Bowler Hat and before that, I believe, The Frontier.

Here’s hoping we’ll see it open as a pub again soon, but I don’t hold out much hope as it joins a growing list of closed pubs in the City: The Pelican, The Coach and Horses, The Victoria, The Welsh Harp… and that’s just off the top of my head.

About Darrel Kirby

I am what I am.
This entry was posted in Gloucester, Pubs & Drinking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

